Dating A Jehovah’s Witness

It was the best year of my life when I met and dated a JW girl. We had a lot of fun, a  lot of laughs and what was by all appearances a loving, warm relationship. She was sweet, funny and really affectionate. For nearly the entire year she was in a wheelchair as the result of a car accident. One thing though was missing. As a Christian I had little time for God. I kind of forgot about Him. My JW girlfriend was pretty much my whole world. It wasn’t until much later that that I realized God would never bless our union. We were unequally yoked. She knew nothing about the free gift of salvation. Knew nothing of God’s grace. Nothing  of the redemption through the blood of Christ. The Truth was not in her. The Kingdom Hall where she attended church services, teaches that Jesus was merely the chief of the angels; the Archangel Michael. His death didn’t pay the penalty for sin, but brought back the possibility for perfection in the human life. We can be righteous on our own. The deity of Christ as the Creator of all things is completely denied and really doesn’t play much of a role anymore. My JW girlfriend and I were spiritually incompatible. If we talked about the things of God, she refused to use the Holy Bible. Her religion has its own “bible” as do the other religious cults. The founder of the JWs, Charles T. Russell and two of his friends were in  a basement with the Holy Bible and went through it verse by verse. If they disagreed with something, they merely made changes to it . Russell was offended by the Bible’s teaching on hell, that he changed it to eternal annihilation. In other words, all non JWs will cease to exist after death. They will only be in God’s memory. Try as I might to present the Gospel of Jesus Christ to my JW girlfriend, it was all Greek to her. She said I was being weird.

When she healed from her injuries and began to walk again, she not only ditched the wheelchair, but she also ditched me. It was sudden, without warning. I didn’t even know what hit me. Were there signs she was losing interest? Personality change? I was so naive and clueless.I  was so blinded  by love I thought we were forever.  It wasn’t until much later that I learned from a mutual friend that she had gone back to a guy she had dated when we first met. He wasn’t a JW. He had no religious beliefs and was an alcoholic.

For months afterwards, I couldn’t eat or sleep. I sank into a deep depression. Trying to snap out of it, I called a JW lady who lived up the road from me. Soon they were coming to my house weekly for bible study. I wanted to know what the JWs actually believe. Somehow I thought it would help me to understand my ex girlfriend better. Maybe I just wanted to feel closer to her by spending time with “her people.” It didn’t work. Instead, I felt something important was missing. I felt empty. It didn’t take long to find out what it was. Jesus Christ was missing. They didn’t even talk about him. I felt so guilty because I have been a Christian for many years and knew better. I quickly repented.

It’s been 14 years since I last saw my old JW girlfriend. I still think about her from time to time and, yeah, sometimes I still miss her. But I also know the union could never work. She completely rejects the Savior that I love and put all my faith in. I still pray for her that God will open her spiritual eyes and her heart to receive the Gospel of Jesus Christ before it is too late.

3 thoughts on “Dating A Jehovah’s Witness

  1. jlue says:

    My precious granddaughter has joined this organization. She wants to go door to door. I have spent hours studying and reading what they believe, what they have taught in the past, how they have changed over the years when their prophecies fail, and how they control their members. While I am sorry you were hurt by your girlfriend, know that unless you joined the Watchtower Bible and Tract Society, it could never have worked. These people say they are serving God, whom they call Jehovah, but they are serving WB&TS. In fact, they are slaves to the organization and Jesus death and resurrection is not accepted as an atonement for their sin. They go through life wondering if they will live up to all the requirements they think they need to receive salvation. It is sad and actually tragic that they miss knowing Christ who came to set them free and give them abundant life.

    • Yes, I agree with you that a marriage with my Jehovah’s Witness ex girlfriend would never have worked. We are unequally yoked. The Bible tells us the light should have nothing to do with darkness. The funny thing is although my ex girlfriend hid me from her mother for a while in order to avoid her disapproval and the disapproval of her Kingdom Hall congregation, she ended our relationship to return to her old boyfriend who has no thoughts about God and never attends church. I can’t help but wonder if the Kingdom Hall that my ex girlfriend attends believe she has apostatized or fallen into disobedience and perhaps would be disfellowshipped.

Leave a Reply

